Candidate Profile: Stash Petton

Stash Petton is running as an Independent Candidate for Sheriff of Bollinger County, Mo

The Marble Hill Constitution-News has sent a questionnaire to all of the candidates running for the position of sheriff of Bollinger County. The Marble Hill Constitution-News is printing the candidate profiles in the order they have been returned. The first candidate to return the questionnaire is Stash Petton. He is an independent candidate who gathered enough petition signatures to be on the ballot in November.

Marble Hill-Constitution News: What makes you the most qualified candidate for Bollinger County Sheriff?

Petton: “My experience and drive makes me the most qualified candidate.  I have served as a Military Policeman in the U.S. Marines and worked for the Marble Hill Police Department.  During the eleven years I was commissioned in Bollinger County, I gained extensive experience there.  I have a working knowledge of that department that I believe no other candidate can claim.  I served as a Reserve Deputy, a Patrol Deputy, Corporal, Sergeant, K-9 Handler, Evidence Officer and Chief Deputy.  I even dispatched for a couple of days.”


 
Marble Hill Constitution – News: What is the biggest problem Bollinger County is currently facing and how would you fix it?


Petton:  I think the biggest problem facing the county is something the Sheriff has a limited role in fixing and that is revenue.  However, that role is vital.  If I were looking for a place to start a business, I would certainly look for safe areas to do so.  As for the biggest crime problems in the county… Drugs and theft.  Sex crimes are more frequent than one would think in this area and cyber crimes are on the rise.  Training for the Deputies and being visible are key factors in fighting many crimes.”

Marble Hill Constitution News: What style of law enforcement do you prefer: Homeland Security or Andy Griffith? ( please explain why)

Petton: “Mayberry would be nice!  Unfortunately we live in a world where the Sheriff must carry a sidearm and the jails need to be locked.  It is possible to enforce laws and remain alert while being respectful and treating people well.  I know if I am elected, I am not going to make everybody happy.  But, even after an arrest has been made or an investigation is unfavorable to someone, I want them at least walk away knowing it was a fair decision and that they were treated with respect.  So, a mixture of the two styles would probably work out just fine. ” 

About aldermanlacy

I am just an average blue collar American who works hard and tries to be a good dad. I have a passion for history, music and freedom.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Marble Hill Constitution-News endorses Petton for Sheriff « Marble Hill Constitution-News - October 2, 2012

    […] Related:  Candidate Questionaire for Stash Petton […]

Leave a Reply

