Shannon County Sheriff joins others across nation protecting Second Amendment

The Honorable Barack Obama
President United States of America
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue
Washington, D.C. 20500

RE: Proposed Gun Control legislation,

By way of introduction let me say that I am not only the duly elected Sheriff of Shannon County Missouri but also a lifelong resident of this county. The residents of this county are not only my friends, but in many cases, my relatives as well. I have over 30 years experience in law enforcement. With these thoughts in mind, the people of this area have seen fit to elect me to my second term in this office. They have expressed their confidence that I will not only defend their property and persons but will also defend their constitutional rights.

In light of recent events, it appears as if a massive political push may be forthcoming that will severely damage the Second Amendment rights that people in my jurisdiction hold dear. Our founding fathers in their wisdom provided protection for our right to be personally armed. In commentary in their writings the founding fathers made it clear their intentions. Samuel Adams wrote, “The Constitution shall never be construed…to prevent the people of the United States from keeping their own arms”. On the same subject, Thomas Jefferson, said “No free man shall be debarred the use of arms”. It seems that the authors of the Constitution were very specific in their intentions. Knowing that many events are swayed by time specific political events, they also made the process of changing the Constitution a difficult and lengthy process. This process cannot be usurped on a whim or knee-jerk reaction to circumstances or individual opinions and it is this way by design.

Mr. President it is my intent to add my name to those Sheriffs of this nation that have spoken up against any further infringement of the Second Amendment. Any new unconstitutional acts of the Federal Government will not be enforced in this county. I, and my deputies, have taken an oath to uphold the Constitution of the United States. We will do this duty with pride. We did not take any such oath to uphold any specific government of the United States. It should be known that I am not ordering my deputies to take this stance, they have all freely volunteered that they will support this position. We, along with our counterparts in other counties, have vowed to defend people in our jurisdiction against all aggressors both domestic and foreign. Any attempts to enforce unconstitutional mandates upon these people will be viewed as domestic aggression and all means necessary to protect our people will be employed.

Steven R. Blunkall
Sheriff of Shannon County Missouri

About aldermanlacy

I am just an average blue collar American who works hard and tries to be a good dad. I have a passion for history, music and freedom.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

