Thoughts about Tuesday’s election: No hard feelings and no apologies

I’ve been thinking about the election. My interview in the Banner Press probably cost me that election.

So what did I say that might have cost me the election? Among other things I criticized the former Mayor and stated that you can’t legislate morality, it was probably strike one. Strike two was when I said I was a Libertarian. Strike three was when I said I was a member of the Fraternal Order of Eagles and a possible Strike four was when I said I was a member of the Sons of Confederate Veterans.

Should I have divulged this information? Absolutely. It is not the job of the Mayor, or an alderman or any elected official to tell constituents how to live.

As an Eagles member my dues and my drink money goes to help fill food bank shelves, by school supplies for needy children, find abandoned dogs good homes among many other things.

The fact that I am a member of the Libertarian party means that I would never raise your taxes. It also means that I would be in a position to protect citizens from the over-reaching hands of government. It means I would try to shrink the size of government and use your tax dollars more wisely.

As a member of the Sons of Confederate Veterans, I help protect the history and heritage of this great nation, which is under attack on a daily basis from a variety of enemies. It means that I preserve the honor and ideals that compelled my Confederate ancestors to fight for their homes, their family and their freedom. Their “fight” incidentally  was the same fight that America’s Founding Fathers waged against an unreasonable government who wanted too much power, too many taxes and wanted to tell its people how to live.

Yes, I drink but when I purchase alcohol it isn’t from the convenience store two miles .out-of-town, it isn’t carried in a brown bag and I don’t look both ways before running to my vehicle afraid of who might see me.

I proudly fly the Confederate Battle Flag. It isn’t coming down.

I will not abandon the Libertarian party because of some “stigma” that it may or may not carry because it makes establishment types from both the Republican or Democratic parties nervous. They should be nervous because they are losing their monopoly on our political system.

To my political opponent Mr. Trentham; I hope you do the right thing in regards to reigning in government, keeping taxes low and letting everybody live their lives as they see fit, as long as they do not harm anyone else but IF you don’t I will be watching.

In the meantime, I will enjoy the vacation time I will not have to use to attend council meetings and I will also enjoy bringing you, my readers and subscribers the news that the others aren’t.

Deo Vindice,

The Editor 🙂

About aldermanlacy

I am just an average blue collar American who works hard and tries to be a good dad. I have a passion for history, music and freedom.

3 Responses to “Thoughts about Tuesday’s election: No hard feelings and no apologies”

  1. Edd Boston Dorrer Reply April 8, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    I, a minority of one did indeed vote for you Mr Lacy and wished you had got in to make a difference in our great little town.

  2. This design is wicked! You most certainly know how
    to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos,
    I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.

    ..HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

Leave a Reply

