Why I have disavowed Libertarianism

I chose not to renew my membership in the Libertarian Party this year. I thought perhaps the local Libertarians would have a somewhat different perspective on things. I thought wrong. Based on my experience Libertarians have no concept of right or wrong, morality never enters into the equation on where one lies on an issue and speaking of issues they tend to pick issues that will surely piss people off so they can stand back and say “Oh my gosh, I can’t believe things got this out of hand”.

The local Libertarian group that I still belonged to had a strange way of prioritizing their issues.Ā  One would think that Libertarians would be the “go to” guys to stand up against issues such as NSA spying , taxes and unnecessary foreign entanglements, not these guys.

Lately their online discussions have turned to such obscure subjects as rescuing pets out of cars during the hot summer months and making horse meat available for human consumption.

During a heated debate on the subject of horse meat one opponent countered my arguments against making it available in your grocers’ freezer with the argument , ” I never said I wanted to eat it. I said I want the option to eat it”.

When I asked the founder of the group why he would put emphasis on such obscure issues his answer was that he wanted to “raise awareness” about the issue of property rights.

By this time the latest “debate subject” was the group founder asking for thoughts on the New York-based Satanic Temple’s plans to place a 7 foot high statue of Satan at the Oklahoma state capitol.

In typical Libertarian fashion most expressed the need to keep government and religion separate stating that this is what comes from allowing one group {Christians} to place a display {The 10 Commandments} on public property. The founder of the group had the audacity to ask, ” So what was the point of the Christian group placing the Ten Commandments on the courthouse lawn?”

This was the last straw for me. It wasn’t that long ago that it was a generally accepted fact that Satan was not someone you wanted to defend, yet there they were…defending him.

I’m not the type to wag my finger in others faces, and I’m not the best example of a Christian but I do have a sense of what is right and what is wrong.Ā  When I expressed this sentiment one group member asked me, “Do you believe in Santa Clause and the tooth fairy too?” -Editor

About aldermanlacy

I am just an average blue collar American who works hard and tries to be a good dad. I have a passion for history, music and freedom.

4 Responses to “Why I have disavowed Libertarianism”

  1. LOL! šŸ™‚
    I think a lot of people, myself included, got fed up with the GOP and started looking for an alternatively. Libertarianism got popular because it was the only option and had “liberty” in the name. I have seen a trend over the last few months of conservatives, ie those with standards and morals, turning away from libertarianism. I hope something new will come out of it.

    For me, Russell Longcore recommended Markets not Capitalism and I was nonplussed, to say the least. That started me investigating libertarianism more and I realised it was as you say, completely amoral. Libertarianism is a danger to traditional values, especially Southern values, since on the surface it seems a perfect match, but the theories, when taken to their logical conclusion, lead to an atomised society without a moral center.

    I have a sneaking suspicion that hardcore libertarians vote democrat as their lesser-of-two-evils choice.

Leave a Reply

