Andy Hall’s Obsession

andy_hallFor those who don’t know him, Andy Hall is the publisher of Dead Confederates, A Civil War-Era Blog.  Mr. Hall lives in Texas and proclaims:

“I’ve got more Confederate ancestors, both direct and collateral, than I’ve been able to identify and count up so far. Some of them came from slaveholding families. They served in some of the best-known units of the war”

One would certainly not know this by most of his blog posts. Hall spends most of his time ridiculing those who dare celebrate or even worse defend their Southern heritage. Much of his time and blog space has been dedicated to criticizing the Virginia Flaggers but he has also had a strange obsession with my writing and heritage defense.

Andy recently published a  post regarding Corey Meyer’s decision to stop publishing his Blood of my Kindred Blog, and wouldn’t you know it, he found room to include me in it, writing:

when I carelessly suggested that the SCV should “stomp” Clint Lacy, who was at the time in the habit of doing lots of really ugly race-baiting on a blog he advertised as being “your voice in the Sons of Confederate Veterans,” Lacy immediately shrieked that I was calling for a non-for-profit fraternal organization to bring violence to my doorstep. It was a stupid and careless thing for me to write, but I doubt that anyone — least of all Clint “No Apologies” Lacy himself — believed that was genuinely intended as incitement to physical violence. Nonetheless, I publicly retracted what I’d written and learned a lesson: be careful what you say and do, because it will always be turned back on you if it can be.

Yes Mr. Hall is correct, it was a stupid and careless thing to write ( as is the case of most of his posts) but he didn’t retract his statement because he thought it was careless, he retracted his statement because he is a coward.

As for his obsession with my writing, I guess he found something he liked on my blog. For quite sometime I have published a Weekend Music Feature , recently Hall started publishing a “Friday Night Concert” feature on his blog. They say imitation is the ultimate form of flattery but when his feature includes music that celebrates the rise of German-Marxism during the Civil War, it’s hard to see it that way.

About aldermanlacy

I am just an average blue collar American who works hard and tries to be a good dad. I have a passion for history, music and freedom.

2 Responses to “Andy Hall’s Obsession”

  1. Confederate Guilt, a sub category of White Guilt.

    And for the record, that was some weak race baitin’. Your gonna have to do better if you want to make the SPLC hall of fame.

Leave a Reply

